Check your Canvas grading scheme

April 25, 2019

It’s imperative that the grading scheme in your course matches the grading policy in your syllabus. Accepted final grades are A, A-, B+, B, B-, C+, C, C-, D+, D, D-, F, S, I (incomplete) and N (no-report). Most Canvas accounts have a default scheme that uses the ISU grade break points of 60, 63, 67, 70, 73, 77, 80, 83, 87, 90, and 93. Canvas doesn’t round grades so if your syllabus lists grades as 0-59, 60-62, 63-66, 67-70 etc. you are assuming breakpoints of 59.5, 62.5, 66.5, 69.5 etc. and must make a new Canvas grading scheme. Go to Settings > Course details tab > check mark ‘Enable course grading scheme’ > ‘set grading scheme’ > ‘Manage grading schemes’ > ‘Add grading scheme’ > name the new scheme and enter desired cutoff values > ‘Save’. Next you must select this new scheme by going to Settings > Course Details screen > ‘set grading scheme’ > ‘Select Another Scheme’ > pick the new scheme and click ‘Use This Grading Standard’ > ‘Done’.

Read More

Contact Details:

Name: Karla Embleton
Phone: 294-9198
Department: in administration