Jessie Wiedenman

Major: Child, Adult, and Family Services
Company/Organization: Childserve
Company/Organization website:
Destination: Ames, IA
Timeframe: Spring
Advisor/Coordinator Email:


I am their community based services intern. I do a lot with the SCL/Respite supervisors. No day is ever the same and that is what I love most about it I never know what I will be doing. I have gotten to meet with families for annual meetings or with new families for enrollment meetings. I have been apart of interviews, helped with documentation, talking to families, caseworkers, and therapists. I have been able to do a variety of things which I have loved I have seen more of the administration side of things which I have really enjoyed because it is different then what I've done before.


I think my greatest accomplishment.from my internship experience has probably been how much I have grown as a person through this experience. It really made me get outside of my comfort zone and do things I wouldn't normally do.

What advice would you give?

Some advice I would give to future students would be to be flexible be willing to go and be wherever you are needed. Also be ok with getting out of your comfort zone because it will happen and with out that you won't grow. That is one thing that has helped me getting comfortable with being uncomfortable. Ask questions always be communicating with your supervisor they want you to learn and take away as much as possible from this experience. Always smile and be happy this is a fun and rewarding experience.

Career Connections